Contact your representatives

The Parish Council has seven members, all of whom can be contacted about any village-related issue or idea.

Your Councillors

Simon Rake [Chairman]

Simon has lived in Blackawton since 1996, and joined the Parish Council in 2010. He is a keen walker, bridge player and an atrocious golfer. Simon is Chairman of the Parish Council.

Areas of special responsibility:
Blackawton Playing Fields Association (Secretary)

simon@blackawtoncommunity.com
t: 01803 712103

Lorien Joyce [Vice-Chairman]

Areas of special responsibility:
Village Hall Management Committee

lorien818@hotmail.com
t: 01803 712187

Ruth Coe [Councillor]

I moved to Blackawton Parish from Surrey in 1999 with my late husband Vic Hall and our two daughters. Vic bought The George Inn in 2002 when the weekly commute to various IT contracts lost its appeal. I have managed TGInn since Vic’s sudden death in 2009, with much help from family, friends and very supportive staff. I am a past Chairman of FOBS, currently Chairman of Blackawton Village Hall committee, and a Parish Councillor since 2008. My interests are many and varied but time is limited, so actual pursuits these days only include bridge, cooking, reading, gardening, films and family (no time for golf!). I love Blackawton and am grateful for the opportunity to show my appreciation of this special community and it’s warm, welcoming spirit.

Areas of special responsibility:
Footpath Warden

ruth@blackawton.eclipse.co.uk
t: 01803 712131 or 712342

Samantha Lewis Davis [Councillor]

I’m Sam, and I have been on the Council a little over a year. At 26 I am the youngest member of the Council and I hope I can bring a different angle to views and parish issues. My son is starting at Blackawton Primary School so this should allow me to improve contact between the Council and the school and younger members of our community. I am always happy to be contacted about local problems to bring forward to Parish Council meetings. Alternatively the meetings are public so you are more than welcome to come along to raise any issues or ideas you may have.

Areas of special responsibility:
Community Shop (Vice Chairman)
Chairman Blackawton Playing Fields Association

samantha@blackawtoncommunity.com
t: 01803 712520

Alan Mallyon [Councillor]

Areas of special responsibility:
Blackawton Playing Fields Association

amallyon1@gmail.com
t: 01803 712799

Steve Thomas [Councillor]

t: 01803  712 840
e. steve@blackawtoncommunity.com

Jack Perry [Councillor]

Areas of special responsibility:
Snow Warden, Blackawton Playing Fields Association

jack@westdownfarm.plus.com
t: 07890 898164

Michael Hicks [South Hams District Council]

cllr.hicks@southhams.gov.uk
t: 01548 821129

Julian Brazil [Devon County Council]

julian.brazil@devon.gov.uk
t: 01548 511109 or 07970 971140

Other useful contacts …

Annette Thom [Parish Clerk]

Postal Address:
FreeSpirit, Higher Street, Dittisham
Dartmouth, Devon, TQ6 0HT

Days of work:
Tuesday afternoon, Wednesday, & Friday

parishclerk@blackawtoncommunity.com
t: 01803 722 417

Jack Perry [Snow Warden]

Areas of special responsibility:
Snow Warden

jack@westdownfarm.plus.com
t: 01803 712459

John Donaldson [Tree Warden]

Areas of special responsibility:
Tree Warden

john@johndonaldsonpaintings.com

John Donaldson [ Health Services Representative]

Areas of special responsibility:
Health Services Representative

john@johndonaldsonpaintings.com

Ruth Coe [Footpath Warden]

Areas of special responsibility:
Footpath Warden

ruth@blackawton.eclipse.co.uk
t: 01803 712131 or 712342