Blackawton Parish Council

The Parish Council is a local authority, the first tier of local government. It is a channel of communication with South Hams District Council and Devon County Council, which are the second and third tiers of local government. The Parish Council works to support the Blackawton community, environment, and local economy.

There are seven Parish Councillors, whose work is supported by a part-time Parish Clerk and Responsible Financial Officer.

The Council meets in the Village Hall on the first Tuesday of each month except August. If the first Tuesday follows a public holiday the Council meets one week later. The meetings are attended by your South Hams District Councillor and Devon County Councillor. Members of the public are very welcome to attend Parish Council meetings.

Parish Council Agendas, Minutes and a wealth of other information is posted on this website. The Agendas and Minutes are posted on the noticeboard opposite The George Inn. A summary of the Minutes is included in the Beacon.